Todd Wehr Chemistry Building


Undergraduate Student Awards

A variety of awards are given annually to our undergraduate chemistry and biochemistry majors in recognition of academic achievement, including:

A list of past recipients can be seen here.

Graduate Student Awards

Special awards and fellowships are given annually to graduate students in our programs in recognition of scholarship and leadership.

Raymond Bournique Award

Dr. Raymond Bournique
Dr. Raymond Bournique

Dr. Raymond Bournique was a faculty member of analytical chemistry who also served as the chairperson of the department in the 1960s. The Bournique award, established by the family of Dr. Bournique, is given annually to a graduate student(s) whose performance in graduate research has been judged by the faculty to be outstanding. Each student having given a satisfactory research meeting presentation is automatically nominated for the award. The major criteria include the quality and quantity of research, as well as the quality of the research meeting presentation. A small stipend is given to the recipient.

Recent Bournique Award Winners
2015: Alexander Semenov
2014: Maxin Ivanov
2013: Dymtro Shyshlov
2012: Moven Mututuvari
2011: Aimable Kalume
2010: Vijay Vyas
2009: Irena Mejac

Clifford R. Haymaker Fellowship

Dr. Clifford R. Haymaker
Dr. Clifford R. Haymaker

The Clifford Haymaker Fellowship has been established through the generosity of Professor John J. Eisch, Ph.D., and his wife, Joan S. Eisch. The Haymaker Fellowship is awarded annually to a graduate student whose performance in teaching has been judged by the faculty to be singularly outstanding. A summer fellowship is awarded to the recipient.

Dr. Clifford R. Haymaker was a distinguished alumnus and faculty member of Marquette University. Born sightless in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1907, he made his way with sighted tutors through grade school, high school, and Marquette University with the highest honors and finally obtained the Ph.D. degree from Marquette University in 1938 with the dissertation “The Chemistry of Atomic Nuclei”. He offered lectures at Marquette on all levels of organic chemistry with the aid of student scribes from 1938 to 1968. He retired with the rank of professor and the warm regard of his many grateful students.

An insightful biography of Dr. Haymaker written by Dr. Eisch and Dr. Daniel T. Haworth is available: Eisch, J. J.; Haworth, D. T. The Professional Career of Clifford R. Haymaker: A Life of Chemistry Imagined and Bequeathed. J. Chem. Educ. 2003, 80, 278.

Recent Haymaker Award Winners
2015: Azamat Galiakhmetov
2014: Elena Ivanova
2013: Dmitry Khomyakov
2012: Amanda Baum
2011: Matthew Flister
2010: Vijay Vyas, Daniel Kaluka
2009: Terrence Neuman

Dr. John J. Eisch Fellowship

Dr. John J. Eisch
Dr. John J. Eisch

The Eisch Fellowship has been established through the generosity of Professor John J. Eisch, Ph.D. and his wife, Joan S. Eisch (B.S. in Nursing, Marquette). The Eisch Fellowship is an academic year research fellowship that is awarded to a graduate student whose performance in graduate research has been judged by the faculty to be outstanding.

Professor John J. Eisch is a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin and a 1952 graduate of Marquette University with the B.S. degree (summa cum laude) in Chemistry. He received the Ph.D. degree in Organic Chemistry from Iowa State University, working under the direction of Professor Henry Gilman, an internationally eminent organometallic chemist. Upon completing his Ph.D. studies in 1956, Dr. Eisch received a postdoctoral fellowship from the Union Carbide Corporation to study withProfessor Karl Ziegler at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim (Ruhr), Germany. Ziegler, along with Giulio Natta, received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1963 for discovering versatile catalysts for the stereoselective polymerization of olefins, diolefins, and acetylenes. Following a five-month stay at the European Research Associates Laboratory in Brussels, Belgium, Eisch began his academic career in 1957 as Assistant Professor of Chemistry in St. Louis University. As his career progressed, Dr. Eisch held positions successively at the University of Michigan and the Catholic University of America, where he was Ordinary Professor of Chemistry and Department Head from 1966 until 1972. He then joined the faculty of the State University of New York (SUNY) at Binghamton as Department Chair in 1972. In 1983 he was named Distinguished Professor, a SUNY-wide honor. Eisch’s extensive research career in the field of organometallic research has been recognized by receiving a traveling lecture fellowship of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist Research Award, Universität München, Germany (1993-1996 and again in 2005-2006), the first Henry Gilman Research Award, Iowa State University (1995), and the Doctor of Science degree, honoris causa, from Marquette University (2002). To date he has mentored over 100 doctoral students and postdoctoral associates, 30 masters students and over 70 undergraduate assistants, as well as having taught undergraduate and graduate courses in organic and organometallic chemistry. He has published two monographs and four edited volumes in organometallic chemistry, as well as over 390 research publications, patents and reviews.

Recently, Dr. Eisch has published his reminiscences as postdoctoral fellow with Karl Ziegler and as a young academic, in the invited review, Fifty Years of Ziegler-Natta Polymerization: From Serendipity to Science. A Personal Account, in Organometallics, 2012, 31, 4917-4932, one of the most frequently downloaded articles from this journal in 2012.

Recent Eisch Award Winners
2015: Elena Ivanova
2014: Amanda Baum
2013: Simon Duri
2012: Aimable Kalume
2011: Lei Wang
2009: Ruchi Shukla

PostDoctoral Awards

The American Institute of Chemists (AIC) Postdoctoral award is given annually to a postdoctoral scholar in the department, based upon achievement, leadership, and professional promise. Recent award winners include:

Recent Postdoctoral AIC Award Winners
2015: Neil Reilly
2014: Piotr Mak
2013: Marat Talipov
2012: Dong-Hwan Lee
2011: Haeweon Park
2009: Ruchi Shukla


Klingler College of Arts & Sciences

Explore Your Future...
As Marquette's largest college, we offer an alphabet soup of majors that truly represent the intellectual heart of the university, with courses in the humanities, natural sciences and social sciences.