General Criteria

Recipients are full-time undergraduate students who, through their leadership, have made outstanding contributions to the University or Milwaukee community over the duration of their time at Marquette.

Students are not recognized solely on the basis of their employment records or office or position held, but for the breadth and depth of their leadership.

Eligibility for nomination is based on scholarship, leadership and service. Award recipients must be in good academic and disciplinary standing and demonstrate a balance of academic and co-curricular excellence. A minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 is expected for award recipients.

All full-time undergraduate students regardless of class-standing are eligible for awards (except where noted).

Awards will be given in three areas:

  1. Emerging Leader Award: Awarded to students in their first or second years of study at who demonstrated initiative, motivation, and potential for continued student leadership within the university.
  2. Magis Award: A Magis Award recipient is a student who has exemplified Marquette’s Mission in a significant way through involvement in activities/initiatives that demonstrate one or a combination of the following: faith that does justice, community/civic engagement, service for and with others, celebration or promotion of diversity and inclusion, advocacy/educational awareness work, mentorship or guidance, and promotion of health and wellness. A recipient will have demonstrated the concept of magis in some way (i.e. doing more for Christ, doing more for others, “the more universal good”). Magis should be thought of as depth and not necessarily quantity of engagements. A student who receives a DSA Student Leadership award is someone who has demonstrated leadership, excellence, dedication and commitment above and beyond the requirements of a paid or appointed role.
  3. Andrew J. Thon S.J. Award for Leadership: This awards honors a graduating senior for leadership contributions that have increased in depth and breadth to the Marquette and Milwaukee communities during the course of their undergraduate career. The highest honor presented by the Division of Student Affairs, this award recognizes distinguished leadership, scholarship, service and excellence and is awarded to a leader who embodies the ideals expressed in the University Mission.

Departmental Selections are due Friday, Feb. 23, 2018


Student Leadership Awards

Student leadership awards

The Division of Student Affairs presents leadership awards annually to recognize student contributions to the mission and activities of the various student affairs areas. Students are nominated by staff from the division and throughout the university and are selected by a committee representing each of the student affairs departments and Campus Ministry. Awards are presented at a program held each year in April. Read more about the student leadership awards.