The College of Education Honors Students, Alumni, and Friends at Mission Recognition Event

Released 5/5/09

The following individuals were honored at the College of Education Mission Recognition Event on Tuesday, May 5, 2009.

Student Awards

Student Awards recognize pre-service teachers and graduate students who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but also a commitment to social justice and leadership expressed in service to others.

Outstanding Elementary Pre-Service Teacher

Johanna Troedsson

Outstanding Secondary Pre-Service Teacher

Nicholas McDaniels

Julie Wojtowicz

Outstanding Counseling and Educational Psychology Masters Student

Ryan Mattek

Outstanding Counseling and Educational Psychology Doctoral Student

Kathryn Keller

Jessica Thull

Recent Graduates - Living the Mission

Living the Mission Awards recognize recent graduates who reflect the mission of the College of Education by acting as change agents in their community.

Counseling and Educational Psychology :  Living the Mission

Kathleen Coffey-Guenther, Ph.D.

Educational Policy & Leadership:  Living the Mission

Patrick Kennelly

Trevor Owen

Michelle Paris

School Partners

School Partners Awards are given to schools which support our social justice mission by providing outstanding experiential learning experiences for pre-service teachers and directly assist us in the formation of men and women for others.

Catholic School Partner

Pius XI High School

Public School Partner

Golda Meir Elementary School

Human Services/Foundation

The Human Services/Foundation Partner Award recognizes collaborative community partners with whom we share the resources, rewards, and risks associated with serving the community and advancing the field of education and mental health.

Human Services/Foundation Partner

Penfield Children’s Center

Cooperating Teachers

The Cooperating Teachers Award recognizes outstanding professionals in the field who model excellence and live the ideals of magis and cura personalis in their work with our pre-service teachers.

Elementary Education Cooperating Teacher

Linda Gaspardo

Academy of Accelerated Learning

Secondary Education Cooperating Teacher

Lou Ann Van Fossen

South Division High School 

Education Advocacy Awards

The Education Advocacy Award recognizes individuals who make significant or systemic contributions to the local, state, or national education landscape through their work. 

Alan Borsuk

Education Reporter for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Dennis Oulahan

President, Milwaukee Teachers' Education Association

Outstanding Lecturer

Outstanding Lecturer Awards recognize adjunct faculty members who excel as teachers of our undergraduate or graduate students and live out a commitment to social justice.

Outstanding COEP Faculty Lecturer Award 

Mark Kuranz

Outstanding EDPL Faculty Lecturer Award

Steve Vande Zande

Hartford University School

Dean's Faculty Excellence Award

The Dean’s Faculty Excellence Award recognizes tenure track faculty members who excel at teaching, research, and service or whose performance in any of these areas is especially significant.  

Alan Burkard

Associate Professor, Counseling & Educational Psychology

Sharon Chubbuck

Associate Professor, Educational Policy & Leadership


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.