The College of Education Honors Students, Alumni, and Friends at 2011 Mission Recognition Event

Released 5/4/11

The following individuals were honored at the College of Education Mission Recognition Event on Tuesday, May 3, 2011.


Student Awards

Student Awards recognize pre-service teachers and graduate students who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but also a commitment to social justice and leadership expressed in service to others.

Outstanding Elementary Pre-Service Teacher
Jasmine Brown

Outstanding Secondary Pre-Service Teacher
Kevin Gleeson                                           

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Masters Student
Laura Milliken

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Doctoral Student
Keyona Jarrett

Outstanding Educational Policy & Leadership Graduate Student
Karen Earle          


Human Services/Foundation

The Human Services/Foundation Partner Award recognizes collaborative community partners with whom we share the resources, rewards, and risks associated with serving the community and advancing the field of education and mental health.

Human Services/Foundation Partner


Cooperating Teachers

The Cooperating Teachers Award recognizes outstanding professionals in the field who model excellence and live the ideals of magis and cura personalis in their work with our pre-service teachers.

Cooperating Teacher
Carolyn Dorsey


Education Advocacy Award

The Education Advocacy Award recognizes individuals who make significant or systemic contributions to the local, state, or national education landscape through their work. 

Ricardo Diaz                              


Marquette University Partner Award

The Marquette University Partner Award recognizes an individual or department for exemplary efforts in support of the College of Education and its social justice mission.

Division of Student Affairs


Outstanding Lecturer

Outstanding Lecturer Awards recognize adjunct faculty members who excel as teachers of our undergraduate or graduate students and live out a commitment to social justice.

Outstanding CECP Faculty Lecturer Award 
Robert Marrs                                                    

Outstanding EDPL Faculty Lecturer Awards
Robert Albrightson
Jon Dooley                                                     


Dean's Faculty Excellence Award

The Dean’s Faculty Excellence Award recognizes tenure track faculty members who excel at teaching, research, and service or whose performance in any of these areas is especially significant.  

Martin Scanlan
Assistant Professor, Educational Policy & Leadership



twitterFollow us on Twitter
twitterLike Us on Facebook


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.