Kahrl, Staudenmaier, and Efford Honored


Andrew W. Kahrl won the 2013 Liberty Legacy Foundation Award from the Organization of American Historians, which is given annually for the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present, for his first book, The Land Was Ours: African American Beaches from Jim Crow to the Sunbelt South (Harvard University Press).

Peter Staudenmaier was chosen to participate in the two week Silberman Faculty Seminar sponsored by the Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the Holocaust Museum in Washington DC.   He also received a Franklin Research Grant from the American Philosophical Society to fund summer research in German archives on his next book length project, "The Politics of Blood and Soil: Organic Agriculture and Contending Visions of Nature in Weimar and Nazi Germany."

Alison Efford received an Andrew W. Mellon grant for a month-long stay at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania (which she will undertake in the summer of 2014), which will aid research on her next project on suicide and the immigrant experience at the turn of the twentieth century.





Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)
Email: history@marquette.edu