Meissner Wins Teaching Excellence Award.

Daniel Meissner became the twelfth member of the History Department since 1965 to receive the Award for Teaching Excellence. Dan teaches courses on East Asian and Chinese history; in 2012 he spent a semester as a Fulbright Lecturer at South China Normal University in Guangzhou. Current members of the department who have earned the award are Steven Avella, John Krugler, Phil Naylor, and Julius Ruff.

Click here to read a transcript of Dan’s remarks at the Pere Marquette Banquet, where the awards were announced.

Short introductions for all four 2014 Teaching Excellence award winners can be found at:



Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)