Student on campus

Twenty-four young historians (click here to see a list of the new members) were initiated into Alpha Delta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at a banquet at John Hawks Pub on March 5. Department chair James Marten welcomed the fifty-or-so initiates, faculty members, and guests, and Fr. Michael Zeps, S. J., blessed the meal. The featured speaker was Dr. Carla H. Hay, whose address, “Living History,” commemorated the Centennial of Women at Marquette by describing the many changes in the number and status of female faculty members she had witnessed since joining the university in the early 1970s. The full text of her talk can be read here.

The 2009-2010 officers of Alpha Delta Chapter were Caroline Corcos, President; Jon Stepp, Vice President; Nick Tomaszewski, Treasurer; and Andrew Marshall, E-Board Member. Professors Timothy McMahon and Irene Guenther have been faculty advisors for the last three years. Professors Alison Efford and Michael Donoghue will become co-advisors in 2010-2011.


Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)