Alumni News

Kevin Abing (Ph.D., 1995) was recently named Assistant Director of Project Planning & Development in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs at Marquette University.

Peter Cajka (MA, 2011), won the 2011 prize for best article in a scholarly journal from the Catholic Press Association for “Riding with Saint Paul in the Passenger Side”: The Archdiocese of Milwaukee Enters the Automobile Age, 1920-1965.” Peter wrote the paper on which the article was based in a seminar taught by Steve Avella. Peter is currently a Ph.D. student at Boston College.

Tim Casey (MA, 2004), has been appointed senior counsel for Global X-Ray, a part of GE Healthcare.

Danielle Decker (BA, 2010) is Local Affairs Coordinator in the Office of Intergovernmental Affairs for the Department of Homeland Security in Washington, DC.

Benjamin DuMontier (BA, 2007) received his MA at the Center for Latin American Studies, University of Arizona. His research was on the history of Paraguay and Brazil, especially the Japanese immigrant population in Latin America.

Paul-Thomas Ferguson (Ph.D., 2005) lives in Rock Island, Illinois, and works as an archivist for the U. S. Army’s Joint Munitions Command. He teaches part-time at St. Ambrose University in Davenport and writes novels, one of which, A Life in Chiaroscuro, is set in Milwaukee.

Jenna Franklin (BA, 2010) will attend Pepperdine University Law School in the fall.

Kevin Gleeson (BA, 2011) teaches World History, American Government, and Cooperative Religions at St. Thomas More High School in Milwaukee.

James M. Haas (BA, 1950) is an emeritus professor of History at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville. After graduating from Marquette, he received his PhD from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana and taught British and early modern European history for thirty-four years at SIU-Edwardsville. Among his publications is the book A Management Odyssey: The Royal Dockyards, 1714-1914 (1994). He recalls Fr. Raphael Hamilton as his first history professor at Marquette and Frank Klement as his “most memorable as well as the most distinguished.”

Dan Heimmermann (PhD, 1994) will become Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Mississippi Women's University on August 1. He has spent the last several years as Dean of Humanities at Texas-Brownsville.

Erik A. Heinrichs (BA, 2000) will be a visiting assistant professor in early modern and modern European history at Benedictine College in 2012-13, after conducting post-doctoral research at the Leibniz Institut für Europäische Geschichte in Mainz, Germany.

Charles Keenan (BA, 2009) continues at Northwestern, where he will begin his dissertation research in Italy this fall. He recently wrote a piece for the History News Network.

Mike Miro (BA, 2005) is Managing Director of Mudlark Theater Company in Evanston, IL.

Ed McKibbin (BA 1993) received his law degree from Creighton University in 1996, and is now the Students' Attorney at Illinois State University in Bloomington, where he advises students on legal issues.

Christopher Miller (Ph.D., 2007) is an Instructional Designer for the UW-Milwaukee School of Education.

John Savagian (Ph.D., 1998), associate professor and department chair Alverno College, spent his spring 2012 sabbatical working on curriculum development at Lingnan University in Hong Kong.

Craig Simpson (MA, 1993), is an archivist at the Lilly Library at Indiana University and co-author of the forthcoming Above the Shots: An Oral History of the Kent State Shootings (Kent: Kent State University Press).

Heather Stur (MA, 2003), an assistant professor of history at Southern Mississippi, received the Nina Bell Suggs Professorship.

Julie Tatlock (Ph.D., 2011) is an assistant professor in the history department at Mount Mary College in Milwaukee.

Thomas D. Veve (PhD, 1990) was recently promoted to full professor of history at Dalton State College in Dalton, Georgia, effective August 2012.

Monica Witkowski (Ph.D., 2010) published her revised dissertation as Women at Law in Colonial Maryland (El Paso: LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2012).




Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)