Student Awards

The department makes several awards to undergraduate and graduate students each year.  This year’s winners were:

Boden Award for Outstanding History Major: Caroline Galluzzi

Jablonowski Award for Outstanding Essay by an Undergraduate: Joseph Donahue

This year’s Prucha-Theoharis Award for Outstanding Graduate Student was split between a PhD and an MA student.  They were Jeffrey Ramsey (PhD) and Hannah Werner (MA).

PhD candidate Aaron Hyams received a Smith Family Fellowship for 2014-2015, which will fund his work on his dissertation, “Indians, Catholics, Bureaucrats, and the Making and Unmaking of the Indian New Deal,” which is being directed by Steve Avella.

Phi Alpha Theta, the History Honor Society, initiated sixteen new members at an April initiation banquet, which featured a talk by Aims McGuinness, associate professor of history at UW-Milwaukee.  The new members of Alpha Delta chapter are:

Vincent S. Ambrosio

Nathan Cobb

Melissa Anne Conroy

Joseph M. Domblesky

Elena Fransen

Peter Alexander Harsch

Meghan Harnett

Margaret Kerr

Alissa Kathleen McGowan

Taylor McNeir

Martha Anne Novotny

Cameron T. Paddison

Kelley Probst

Nicole Roman

James Kevin Smith

Mackenzie L. Vicker




Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)