History faculty received three major awards in spring 2010.

Fr. Avella accepts teaching award

Steven Avella became the 11th member of the department to be selected for one of the teaching awards at Marquette when he accepted the Robert and Mary Gettel Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence at the Pere Marquette Banquet on May 6. A transcript of Steve’s remarks can be read here

Click here for a full listing of historians who have won a Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence.


Dr. Marten receives Haggerty Award.

James Marten became the second member of the history department (after Athan Theoharis in 2002) to receive the Lawrence G. Haggerty Faculty Award for Excellence in Research. Click here for his remarks at the Distinguished Scholars Reception on March 24.

Dr. Wert presents his poster.

Michael Wert’s poster on “Why Losers Matter: Historical Memory and the Meiji Restoration in Japan” was one of four winners of the second annual "Marquette International Research Poster Session" sponsored by the Office of International Education.




Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)