Kristen Foster Receives Teaching Award

Kristen Foster received the 2015 Robert and Mary Gettel Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence, becoming the third history faculty member in the last five years to be so honored.

Kristen Foster award

Kristen has been a member of the history department since 2002.  Her first book was Moral Visions and Material Ambitions: Philadelphia Struggles to Define the Republic, 1776-1836 (2004), while her current book project is tentatively called Haiti's Mirror:  A Look at the Impact of the Haitian Revolution on American Ideas about Equality.  She received the Award for Excellence in Faculty Advising from the College of Arts and Sciences in 2008.

The Award for Teaching Excellence has been given since the 1950s; thirteen members of the history department have received the award, more than any other department.  The other winners from the history department are:

2014: Dan Meissner

2010: Steve Avella

2001: Lance Grahn

1996: Phil Naylor

1993: Julius Ruff

1988: John P. Donnelly, SJ

1984: John Krugler

1978: Thomas Hachey

1977: Ronald Zupko

1973: Francis Paul Prucha, SJ

1969: Ralph Weber

1965: Frank Klement





Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)