Trying on the ICE CUBE cold weather gear


May 2013

5/18-5/19: Spring Commencement

Congratulations, Physics Graduates!

Abigail Searfoss received the 2013 Gold Medal Award from the Klinger College of Arts and Sciences

5/2: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Sudha Swaminathan (Worcester State University) "Physics in Art"

5/1: Department Retirement Celebrations

April 2013

4/27: MU Physics Alumni Celebration (WW Physics 216 12-3PM)

4/26: SPS Awards and Department Banquet

Congratulations to SPS Honor Society Inductees, Outstanding TA, Karioris Memorial and Weinrich Memorial Award winners!

4/24: Women in Physics Lecture (Weasler Auditorium 4 PM)

Dr. Evalyn Gates (CEO of the Cleveland Museum of Natural History) "Einstein's Telescope: The Hunt for Dark Matter and Dark Energy"

4/18: Andrew Kunz received the 2013 Excellence in Faculty Advising Award!

Check out pictures from the ceremony.

Department Colloquium (Clark 123 4 PM)

Dr. Bryce Littlejohn (UW-Madison Physics Department) "Going Beyond the Standard Model with Neutrino Oscillations"

4/11: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Dr. David Kaplan (UW-Milwaukee Physics Department) " Finding Radio Transients with the Murchison Widefield Array"

4/9: Annual Coyne Lecture (Weasler Auditorium 7 PM)

Dr. David Latham (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics) "Super Earths and Life"

January 2013

1/25: Holiday Party and Department Talent Show (WW366 4PM)


December 2012

12/16: Mid-year Commencement

Congratulations, Ben Calvopina!

November 2012

11/15: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Dan Olson (MU Phys '13) "Explosive Material Characterization and Analysis Techniques"
Kelsey Meinerz (MU Phys '14) "A simplified model for flagella motion"

11/8 - 11/10: SPS Quadrennial Congress, Orlando, FL


October 2012

10/25: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Ferah Munshi (University of Washington) "Star Formation in N-body galaxy simulations"

10/23: Annual Coyne Lecture (Weasler Auditorium 7 PM)

Professor Joe Taylor (Princton University, Nobel Prize 1993) "Binary Pulsars and Relativistic Gravity"

10/11: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Prof. John Borg (Marquette University, Mechanical Engineering) "Kurzzeitdynamik: Physics in the Blink of an Eye"

10/4: Department Colloquium (Clark 111 4 PM)

Prof. Megan Pickett (Lawrence University)

September 2012

9/13: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Abigail Searfoss (MU Phys '13) "Akt regulates mitochondrial import of Cu,ZnSOD and its effects on oxidative stress in pulmunary fibrosis"
Rebecca McAuliffe (MU Phys '13)

9/6: Department Colloquium (WW 216 4 PM)

Prof. Elizabeth Simmons (Michigan State University) "Women in Physics in the United States: numbers, challenges, solutions"
Sponsored in part by the APS Womens Speaker Series

9/5: Department Picnic "Welcome back to School!" (Outside WW Phys 4 PM)



Physics Department Mission Statement

The Physics Department is committed to excellence in undergraduate physics education and embraces the Ignation ideal of cura personalis, or "care for the whole person." The Department is a community of faculty, staff and students: Faculty advance the frontiers of physics in both research and education, staff contribute their expertise in facilitating all endeavors of the department, and students participate in learning and scholarship with the guidance of the faculty.