Dr. Jane Peterson honoring Sydni Zamarron




Application deadline:

First Thursday in March of each year


For more information please contact Dr. Mulla

The Department of Social and Cultural Sciences offers the Anthropology Outstanding Student Award in recognition of one graduating senior in the anthropology major who has demonstrated academic excellence, leadership and service, and engagement and dedication to the field of anthropology and its broad applications to the world and commitment to human diversity. 


This award is competitive and is bestowed upon the one graduating senior who:

In years where an outstanding candidate cannot be identified, the selection committee reserves the right not to grant the award that particular year. 


In judging the nominees, the Committee will take into consideration the following factors:


The recipient of the Outstanding Student Award will be honored at the Annual Arts and Sciences Commencement.


Past Awardees: 
2017 Sydney Resler
2016 Sydni Zamarron

Sara Mau

Karen Rapport

2014 Joseph Donahue
2013 Erin J. Hastings
2012 Erish Tucker
2011 Valencia Lynch
2010 Brian Forman


Contact the Department of
Social and Cultural Sciences

Lalumiere Language Hall, Room 340
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
Phone: (414) 288-6838 | Fax: (414) 288-6444