Battaglia

Peter Battaglia
peter.battaglia@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

Th.M. Dallas Theological Seminary
B.S. Liberty University

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Early Christian hermeneutics and biblical interpretation, Greek linguistics, second-century patristic literature

Bermender

Jason Bermender
jason.bermender@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.A. Franciscan University of Steubenville
B.Phil. Pontifical Lateran University
B.A. Franciscan University of Steubenville

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Old Testament, exorcism in the Bible, demonology
Dissertation Exorcising in the Spirit: Exorcistic Figures in the Israelite Tradition
Director Andrei A. Orlov

Blanchard

Shaun Blanchard
shaun.blanchard@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.St. University of Oxford
B.A. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Second Vatican Council, Catholic Enlightenment, the nature of reform
Dissertation The Eighteenth-Century Roots of Vatican II
Directors Ulrich L. Lehner and Joseph G. Mueller, S.J.

Bowman

Patrick L. Bowman
patrick.bowman@marquette.edu

M.A. and Th.M. St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary
M.Div. New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
B.S. University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest Theology of repentance in early Christianity, Epistle to the Hebrews, ecumenism and intra-Christian conversion

Burnett

David A. Burnett
david.burnett@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.A. Criswell College
B.A. Criswell College

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Early Jewish and Christian biblical interpretation, deification and angelogy, Pauline apocalypticism and mysticism

Calme

Stephen Calme
stephen.calme@marquette.edu

M.T.S. Boston College School of Theology and Ministry
M.Ed. University of Notre Dame
B.A. Boston College

Concentration Systematic Theology/Theological Ethics
Areas of interest Conversion, kenosis, racial justice

Cizek

Paul Cizek
paul.cizek@marquette.edu

M.Div. Duke Divinity School
B.A. University of Wisconsin-Madison

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, Second Temple Jewish literature, theological ethics and practical reasoning
Dissertation Ethical Functions of Deuteronomic Allusions in Early Judaism
Director Joshua Ezra Burns

DeMeuse

Eric DeMeuse
eric.demeuse@marquette.edu

M.A. Villanova University
B.A. Hillsdale College

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest The Reformation and early modern Catholicism, ecclesiology, scholasticism

Elder

Nick Elder
nick.elder@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.A. Iliff School of Theology
B.A. Colorado Christian University

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Gospel of Mark, Joseph and Aseneth, ancient media
Dissertation The Media Matrix of Early Jewish and Christian Literature: Reading Joseph and Aseneth and Mark as Textualized Oral Narratives
Directors Julian V. Hills and Joshua Ezra Burns

Flippin

Dallas Flippin
dallas.flippin@marquette.edu

M.A. McAfee School of Theology of Mercer University
B.A. University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Gospels, narrative criticism, ecological hermeneutics

Guidero

Kirsten Guidero
kirsten.guidero@marquette.edu

M.A. Wheaton College (Illinois)
A.B. University of Chicago

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Deification, pneumatology, ecumenism
Dissertation "Filled with the Fullness of the Gifts of God": Towards a Pneumatic Theosis
Directors D. Stephen Long and Susan K. Wood, SCL

Heaps

Jonathan Heaps
jonathan.heaps@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

S.T.M. Boston University School of Theology
M.A. Boston College
B.A. North Park University

Concentration Theology and Society
Areas of interest Twentieth-century Catholic philosophy, problems of divine and human agency, philosophy and theology of history
Dissertation The Ambiguity of Being: Medieval and Modern Cooperation on the Problem of the Supernatural
Directors Robert M. Doran, S.J., and Danielle K. Nussberger

Hitchcock

Jason Hitchcock
jason.hitchcock@marquette.edu

M.A. University of Chicago Divinity School
M.A. Wheaton College (Illinois)
B.A. Wheaton College (Illinois)

Concentration Theology and Society
Areas of interest Reception history of Paul’s epistles, Gospe of John

Hulse

Sara Hulse
sara.hulse@marquette.edu

M.T.S. Pontifical John Paul II Institute at the Catholic University of America
B.A. DeSales University

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Henri de Lubac and Nouvelle Théologie, theological anthropology, relationship between theology and sanctity

Keen

Karen Keen
karen.keen@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

Th.M. Duke Divinity School
M.A. Western Seminary
M.S. Western Oregon University
B.S. Corban University

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Hebrew Bible, hermeneutics, reception history, ethics
Dissertation Death of the Vulnerable: Israelite Ethics and the Killing of Children in the Hebrew Bible
Directors Sharon Pace and Joshua Ezra Burns

Kidd

Rev. Nathaniel Ogden Kidd
nathaniel.kidd@marquette.edu

M.Div. Nashotah House Theological Seminary
B.A. Colorado College

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest Patristics, angelology and demonology, Christianity, Judaism, and Islam in late antiquity
Dissertation Imagining Demons in Jerusalem: John of Damascus and the Consolidation of Classical Christian Demonology
Director Marcus Plested

Klump

Gary P. Klump
gary.klump@marquette.edu

M.A. Marquette University
M.A. Augustine Institute
B.A. Franciscan University of Steubenville

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Israelite and ancient near eastern creation accounts, comparative mythology, reception of creation and mythological motifs in Second Temple Judaism

Koble

Brandon W. Koble
brandon.koble@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

S.T.M. Concordia Theological Seminary
M.Div. Concordia Theological Seminary
B.A. Purdue University

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest Post-reformation era Christological controversies

Krall

Christopher Krall, S.J.
christopher.krall@marquette.edu

M.St. University of Oxford
M.A. University of Toronto
B.A., B.S., M.Div., and S.T.L. Boston College

Concentration Theology and Society
Areas of interest Systematic theology of Thomas Aquinas and Bernard Lonergan, neuroscience studies of consciousness and imagination

Lilley

Chris Lilley
chris.lilley@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.Div. Princeton Theological Seminary
B.A. Bethel University

Concentration Theology and Society
Areas of interest Thomas Aquinas, theology, evolution, and the natural sciences, issues concerning divine providence, determinism, and freedom
Dissertation The Dignity of Natural Agency: Aquinas on Divine Providence and Secondary Causes
Director Jame Schaefer

Moscicke

Hans Moscicke
hans.moscicke@marquette.edu

M.A. Wheaton College (Illinois)
B.A. Moody Bible Institute

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest New Testament Gospels and Acts, apocalyptic Judaism, early Christian interpretation of Scripture
Dissertation Day of Atonement in the Synoptic Gospels: Echoes of Yom Kippur in the Passion of Christ
Directors Andrei A. Orlov and Michael Cover

Mueller

Daniel Mueller
daniel.p.mueller@marquette.edu

Th.M. Asbury Theological Seminary
M.A. Asbury Theological Seminary
B.Th. Ozark Christian College

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Gospel studies, historical Jesus, orality and literacy

O'Kernick

Patrick J. O'Kernick
patrick.okernick@marquette.edu

M.A. Villanova University
B.A. University of Scranton

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Parables, synoptic Gospels, literary criticism
Dissertation Moved with Compassion: Parables in Luke and the Transactional Quality of Reading
Director Julian V. Hills

Olver

Matthew S. C. Olver
matthew.olver@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.Div. Duke Divinity School
B.A. Wheaton College (Illinois)

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Early Christian liturgy, the Roman Canon, sacramental theology
Dissertation The Sacrifice of the Word: The Roman Canon's Use of Hebrews and Its Unique Theology of Sacrifice
Director Susan K. Wood, SCL

 

Jonathan S. Owens
jonathan.owens@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.Div. Calvin Theological Seminary
B.A. Calvin College

Concentration Theological Ethics
Areas of interest Political theology, interreligious cooperation

Pino

Tikhon Alexander Pino
tikhon.pino@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.T.S. Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology
B.A. Catholic University of America

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest Byzantine theology, paleography, metaphysics
Dissertation The Palamite School: The Followers of St. Gregory Palamas and the Reception of the Essence-Energies Distinction
Director Marcus Plested

Potter

Kyle Douglas Potter
kyle.potter@marquette.edu
Academia.edu page

M.T.S. University of Notre Dame
M.Th. University of Oxford
B.A. Georgetown College (Kentucky)

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Ecclesiology, sacramental theology, ecumenism

Roumas

Nicholas Roumas
nicholas.roumas@marquette.edu

M.T.S. Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology
B.S. Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Concentration Systematic Theology

Stephan

Corey Stephan
corey.stephan@marquette.edu

M.T.S. Boston College School of Theology and Ministry
B.A. University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest Patristics, medieval and Byzantine theology

Sutermeister

Wesley Sutermeister
wesley.sutermeister@marquette.edu

Th.M. St. John’s School of Theology
M. Div. Ashland School of Theology
B.A. The Ohio State University

Concentration Systematic Theology
Areas of interest Theological anthropoogy, Karl Rahner, liberation and Black theology
Dissertation The Liberation of Vision: Incarnating a Radical Sense of Justice
Directors Joseph Ogbonnaya and Robert L. Masson

 

Luke V. Togni
luke.togni@marquette.edu

M.A. Dalhousie University
B.A. University of King's College

Concentration Historical Theology
Areas of interest St. Bonaventure, Pseudo-Dionysius
Dissertation Bonaventure's Franciscan Reception of Dionysian Hierarchy
Director Wanda Zemler-Cizewski

Zappia

Dominic Zappia
dominic.zappia@marquette.edu

M.Div. Samford University
B.A. California Baptist University

Concentration Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity
Areas of interest Gospel of John, synoptic gospels and Acts, narrative criticism
Dissertation Confessing Characters: Coming to Faith in the Gospel of John
Director Julian V. Hills


SITE MENU

Theology Department Mission Statement

Theology Department Mission Statement


Marquette University defines itself as Christian, Catholic, Jesuit, urban, and independent. The Department of Theology functions within the university to investigate and understand the Catholic tradition, its relation to other Christian communions, and to other religions of the world. Read more of our mission statement.